Dark Was The Night is a brand new compilation produced by The National's Bryce Dessner. The compilation includes 31 exclusive tracks and it will be available as a double cd/triple vinyl/download and will benefit the Red Hot Organization – an international charity dedicated to raising money and awareness for HIV and AIDS through popular culture.

Folks at the Red Hot Organization are responsible for albums including No Alternative, Red Hot and Blue and many more, and this is their 20th year, and in particular this compilation represents its 20th release!

Take a peek at what's included:



1 Knotty Pine – Dirty Projectors + David Byrne

2 Cello Song (Nick Drake) – The Books featuring Jose Gonzalez

3 Train Song (Vashti Bunyan recorded, written by Alasdair Clayre) – Feist + Ben Gibbard

4 Brackett, WI – Bon Iver

5 Deep Blue Sea – Grizzly Bear

6 So Far Around the Bend – The National (arrangement by Nico Muhly)

7 Tightrope – Yeasayer

8 Feeling Good (popularized by Nina Simone) – My Brightest Diamond

9 Dark Was the Night (Blind Willie Johnson) – Kronos Quartet

10 I Was Young When I Left Home (Bob Dylan) – Antony + Bryce Dessner

11 Big Red Machine – Justin Vernon + Aaron Dessner

12 Sleepless – The Decemberists

13 Stolen Houses (Die) – Iron and Wine

14 Service Bell – Grizzly Bear + Feist

15 You Are The Blood – Sufjan Stevens


1 Well-Alright – Spoon

2 Lenin – Arcade Fire

3 Mimizan – Beirut

4 El Caporal – My Morning Jacket

5 Inspiration Information (Shuggie Otis) – Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings

6 With A Girl Like You (The Troggs) – Dave Sitek

7 Blood Pt 2 (based on original song “You are the Blood” by the Castanets) – Buck 65 Remix (featuring Sufjan Stevens and Serengeti)

8 Hey, Snow White (Destroyer) – The New Pornographers

9 Gentle Hour (Snapper) – Yo La Tengo

10 Another Saturday (traditional song) – Stuart Murdoch

11 Happiness – Riceboy Sleeps

12 Amazing Grace (traditional song) – Cat Power and Dirty Delta Blues

13 The Giant Of Illinois (Handsome Family) – Andrew Bird

14 Lua – Conor Oberst + Gillian Welch

15 When the Road Runs Out – Blonde Redhead + Devastations

16 Love vs. Porn – Kevin Drew

Here you find 3 links containing 3 of my favorite tracks of the compilation that I selected for you from www.darkwasthenight.com...these are examples from Bon Iver, The National and Arcade Fire.

The compilation will be released on February 17th, 2009 in North America and a day prior in Europe...no idea when, if at any time will hit the stores in Mexico...want a copy?....let me know...

1 comentario:

  1. Obvio yo te encargo una bro! Se ve que va a estar super bueno!!!